top of page

Starting Out


I first discovered my desire for cake decorating, when I started working at the Marble Slab Creamery. The Marble Slab is an ice cream shop here in Canada that specializes in ice cream cakes, ice cream cupcakes, sundeas and so on, It is very similar to the Cold Stone Creamery in the United States . It was here that I decorated my first ever, ice cream cake! From this point on, I began to push my boundaries and explore different decorating techniques. Mind you, these were all frozen treats.

However it wasn't until some months later- after I married the love of my life, that I really began to explore the full potential of baking scrumptious, little treats.

Let me tell you... My first couple of cakes were horrifying, disasters- to say the least! I kept messing up the cakes; they came out dry as the Sahara desert... no pun intended haha, too sweet, or the minute I would cut into it, it would crumble and slump to one side...like the leaning tower of Pisa. I became frustrated. You know that feeling when nothing would be more satisfying, then to chuck the cake at the wall in vengful manner? Yes, that's what it was like. But then I reconsidered thinking to myself "But who would clean up my mess?"

After many a tears of frustration and feeling as though I were in the depths of despair, I gave up. I thought, "if this what baking is going to be like for me, then maybe it's just not meant to be."

Fortunately, about 6 months or so later, I was house sitting for my mother; the sun was coming through the kitchen window on a beautiful winter morning. Something about the atmosphere of the spacious kitchen and the sunlight warming the air gave me a glimmer of hope. Before I knew what my hands were doing, I was reaching into the cupboard for flour, sugar and cocoa. The ingredients of happiness. I successfully created PeanutButter Cookie Dough Frosting ( Found here...) on decadent Chocolate cupcakes using my Grandma-Jo's famous, super moist- Chocolate Cake recipe.

Thus I began my exicting new adventure into the baking and decortating of delightfully delicious treats! From this point on, Pinterest became my new best friend!


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page